Maser Patrol podcast episode 19: Tokusatsu 101 (Rehearsal)

Several people asked for me to post the Tokusatsu: The World of Japanese Special effects presentation slides from this year’s Anime Milwaukee convention. I don’t have the audio from that panel, but I did get a recording of a practice first-pass that I did for Andy, Josh, and Amanda. Naturally it’s not as polished as the final version, but it hits on most of the same points (plus it’s free!).

Because it’s a slide show, we’re trying something a little different for this episode and going with video instead of just audio. Hope you enjoy, and let us know what you think!

This entry was posted in Podcast. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maser Patrol podcast episode 19: Tokusatsu 101 (Rehearsal)

  1. Ha, I started watching your video, and I was quite surprised to see that you used the screen shot that I took and posted on Toho Kingdom from Love Hina! (To be fair, my brother may have taken the screen shot for me…)

  2. kevnder says:

    Yep, I think a few things from the “Sightings” article made it in there. What can I say, it’s a great source!

  3. Kevin Clark says:

    first I really enjoyed your podcast, when you were talking about how the Metal Heroes influenced Robocop, it should be noted that Robocop started as a proposed Judge Dredd film.

    • kevnder says:

      Yeah, I could have phrased that better. Robocop had several major influences, also including 8man and Frankenstein; Metal Heroes was one of the things that the design team looked to for inspiration.

      We might have to do a show or article on Robocop and his Robo-copies (e.g. Jiban, Lady Battle Cop, Robo Vampire) at some point.

Leave a Reply

